14 Comments

Chapter 2.2 ~ Someone Who Cares

“Ughhhh ahhh.” I yawned, stretching to smack the screaming alarm clock beside my bed. I rubbed my tired eyes, and glanced out my window to see another beautiful day in Zephyr Hills. In the six months of my being here, I’d only seen a handful of rainy days, so few, I could could them on one hand.

I groggily stood from my mattress, and folded the crumpled covers back into their normal, smooth form before padding my way into the kitchen, and making myself some breakfast. That’s another thing I’ve gotten better at, cooking. That’s ‘better’, not ‘good’.

Today was going to be a good day, because I only had a half day in the office, and the rest of the gorgeous day would be spent with Calypso scouting around town for stories to write about. Oh right, you guys don’t know Calypso.

Well, you’ve met Calypso before. Remember the ‘blue man’ who helped me out with computer issues? Yea, well that’s him. His full name is Calypso Shimmer, and he’s a really great guy. He has the most dedication of any sim I’ve ever known, and everything he does in life has to benefit his work somehow. He never rests, ever. He’s really the kind of guy that you can rely on, not a risk taker, sticks by the book. That’s what I need right now, someone stable, a really good friend.

Sure, I might be young, and maybe I should be looking into delving into new things, but all I want to do is settle down, with a family, my job, and a man that loves me. When I talk to Mom, or Lavender about it, they both think I should date around, but what’s the point? What more will I want in a man that what Calypso has to offer me? We’d never be short or cash, because he’d never stop working, he’s not big-headed, and he loves a good romance movie. Honestly, I don’t think anyone else could take my fancy.

But what am I saying? We’re just friends, work partners. Nothing more, at least, I don’t think so. Not to him.

I stepped into the same office I did everyday with a big smile on my face. Every promotion had me hoping for a new office, but alas, nothing, so I was stuck on the lowest floor, with the worst coffee maker in the world. I greeted  a few work friends with your usual, polite “Hello, how are you? How are the kids?” before sitting at my desk, and flashing a grin to a very busy Calypso beside me. He shot me a cheeky smirk from beneath peak of his hat, before returning to his rapid typing. It was the same everyday, and was a perfect little routine that we’d worked ourselves into.

I spent the morning typing up the information that I’d gotten during the week, be it from interviews with Sims around town, watching movies and writing reviews, or even the odd dumpster dive to get the really juicy info on certain elite sims, and their not so secret personal lives.

Honestly, One o’clock couldn’t come fast enough, because I was looking forward to a day with Calypso.

************

“She was so beautiful” I gushed, completely forgetting to jot notes into my notebook on what I was seeing.

“I’m not too sure..”

“Oh?”

“Yea. The perfect looking girl can’t be perfect inside too. It makes no sense”

“Oh? Is that true? Could you ever be proven wrong on that fact?”

“Never. If a girl is perfect outside, then there’s something bound to be wrong with her personality.”

“Well then!”

He just laughed me off, and took another long gaze at the statue of Simene, Goddess of the Moon. She was so perfect, it was impossible for me not to question Calypso’s theory.

After snapping a few pictures of the statues, and taking a quick interview with the owner, and a few passers by, our review of the new art museum was complete.

“Jeez, I’m starved.” I said, and Calypso nodded his head in agreement.

“There’s a cafe around the back of this place, let’s go get something.” He offered, opening a door for me to walk through.

We walked to the back of the museum, and out into the open cafe area, and as we went to order, Calypso slipped his warm hand into my cool one. I felt my face flush slightly, and a sly grin crept its way onto my face. We ordered, and I felt a certain sense of pride as the cashier brought her eyes down from Calypso’s face, tracing the contours of his body, only to stop with a jolt as she found our interlocked fingers.

We ate out late lunch, then hung around at the cafe to exchange and compare notes on the museum. We had very similar results, and basically just talked about work, before hopping into my car, and heading back to my apartment.

We sat on my couch until the sun was long set, and watched everything from the news, to the re-run of ” Harry Simmer and the Deathly Hollows part 2″. It’s a good thing I was wearing water proof make-up, that’s all I’ll say.

“You’re such a sap” He laughed, poking my side as he handed my another tissue.

“No way! Look at those memories! He’s loved her forever! You’re just heartless!” I sobbed.

He shook his head again, and  handed me the box of tissues.

As it got later, Calypso told me he had to leave, because he had two articles to finish before bed. I walked him to the door, and told him goodbye.

“Wait, I forgot to tell you something.” he blurted, as I moved my hand to the doorknob.

“Oh?”

“I talked to Mr. Sprout about you, and I think that by tomorrow, you’ll have a nice little promotion under your belt.”

I freaked out, swinging my arms around him, nearly sending him to the floor. This was the promotion I’d been waiting for for a long time, but it had always inched itself out of reach.

“Thank you, Cal.” I breathed, not even realizing my name slip up.

“You’re welcome.” He smiled, before prying me off of him, and slipping out the door with a wink of his right eye, and a tip of his cap.

I then slumped down on my couch in the now empty apartment, then took my phone, and called my sister.

“Hey there Vi, how’s it going.”

“Oh Lav… Better than good.”

14 comments on “Chapter 2.2 ~ Someone Who Cares

  1. Ooh! Cute!

    How could he not find the movie sad? It must have sucked to be Snape.

    I love the update!

    • Thank you my dearest! And I 100% agree, Sanpe is my #1 favorite character in HP, and I cry everytime I watch those memories of his. In fact, I just watched them an hour ago!

  2. :)

    That’s what I thought about the chapter, well done.

  3. i love you’r story! I’m new here and once i read you’r story i fell in love haha:)
    I can’t wait till the next chapter and see how Violet and Calypso turn out!

  4. Very well written. They’re cute together too :)

    I can’t wait to read more

Leave a Comment