13 Comments

Chapter 2.12 ~ I’ll Love You Forever

My wedding. Although, to most people, having two weddings would make the second one a little less amazing, and a little less magical, but too me it seemed the absolute opposite. This time, there was no cutting corners, or saving pennies, we’d decided to go all out, reserving an adorable park to host the ceremony, ordering flowers galore, and buying a ginormous cake to feast on.

At the beginning, I was wary, unwilling even, to let Picton to send so much money on something so frivolous as a wedding, when there were many more important things to think about. Food, for instance, bills for another. I even considered the fact that this wedding might be stealing money from the kids’ school fund, should they ever choose to go to university. After a long, hard think, and a lot, and I mean a lot, of convincing I was sure that these worries were unnecessary. Picton proved this, by putting one of his paintings online for auction, and within the hour, we had a bid so high, it paid for half the wedding costs already.

When I’d done my worrying, and I finally allowed myself to get excited. I began to scribble down notes about guest lists, and sketch out designs of dresses, and truly let my mind go wild. This was the wedding I’d been deprived of the first time, the wedding I’d craved since I could dream of such things. I let the kids help out as much as they could, as well as Picton, and somehow, my own personal dream became a family event, and that made it even better.

 

I think the best part, was telling my Mother. I got the reaction she’d begun to have last time, before I’d dropped the bombshell that Calypso had dropped on me. I picked up the phone, hand shaking with excitement, and an unmoving smile carved into my face.

Hello, Icing residence, Cararra speaking.” my Mom answered brightly, as happy and joyous as ever.

Momma?”

Oh! Violet, love, hi! How are you?”

Good, Ma. No, I’m a million times better than good, I’m simply brilliant. Floating on cloud nine.”

Well, it sounds like someone has something to tell me. Spill!” She gushed, like a teenager would.

Mom, I’m getting married!” I cried

Like… a wedding?” she asked, wary of showing emotion either way after last time.

A wedding.” I confirmed.

Oh Violet! Violet! Ah! I’m so happy! I can’t even begin to – just give me a second.”

Sure” I giggled, hearing the excited squealing from the other end.

Honey, I’m so happy for you.” Dad’s voice called from the background, and I yelled back a giddy ‘Thank you’.

A few minutes later, my Mom was apparently able to string sentences together again, because she picked up the phone again, and said, “Well, when should we drive down?”

Well, we want to get married as soon as possible, because otherwise I don’t think we’d get a minutes peace from Zuli, she’s so excited. Don’t tell her I said that. Hmm. Can you get here in a week, Ma? I know it’s a bit soo-”

We’ll be there. The whole clan. Oh! You’ll get to meet Nepal! Oh dear, he’s so lovely. Anyway, I must dash, there’s calls to make now, and all. See you in a week!”

Bye Mom, see you soon!”

 

It turns out though, that one week was much too long for my Mom, and she turned up at our door with a beaming Dad in tow only three days later. She assured me that everyone else was coming down at the arranged time, but she thought she’d be more use to me closer, and so, here she was.

Mrs Icing, come on in. Hello sir, how are you, yes please come in.” Picton had ushered, without batting an eyelid upon their early arrival. He agreed that my Mom was going to be more helpful here.

You Father and I could always go fishing, or such, until we’re needed. Unless you want me to come dress picking..” he offered weakly, while everything about him was pleading me to let him go fish.

No, we don’t need you for the dress shopping. You’ve done your part, with the venue, and stuff. Go have fun.” And with that, and a quick kiss, I saw very little of my groom-to-be for the next while.

 

So much to do!” my Mother cried the next day, looking at my list. I shook my head, smiling. She was such a fuss.

No, Mama, I just didn’t cross everything off yet.” I corrected, taking a pen, and crossing through my own handwriting, taking the words flowers, venue, cake, invites, and call Mom.

So all we need to do is find you a dress, and arrange some catering..You couldn’t have left me more to do?”

Mom! You were just complaining there was too much!”

Ahh.. I know. Nevermind, there’s always other children’s weddings to plan. Eminence and Lavender both got engaged, you know.” she reminded me, for the tenth time that day.

 

Yes, Momma, I know.” I said, smiling.

Well, of course you do. Silly me. What do you say we go make a call to the caterer’s quickly, and then this evening, we can try on dresses, eh? That way Zuli will be home, so we won’t get complaints.”

Okay, are you going to call, or am I?”

Well I am of course! Seafood or steaks dear?” she asked as she walked away, and I had to call ‘Neither, a buffet’ after her between laughs. She really was something, my Mom.

 ****

That evening, I stood in the dress store with my Mom and my daughter at my side, modelling the twelfth dress of that night. We had all agreed that a baby blue with lavender accents would be the perfect color scheme, but little did we know that almost a whole wall of dresses fit that criteria.

This one?” I asked, spinning a circle around before taking a few steps to the left and then back, to test the length.

 

No way! Look at the bottom bit Mom, it’s so old ladyish!” Zuli cried, shaking her head.

Hey, old lady over here!” joked my Mom.

No, Grandma, you’re just… a really big kid.”

Aha, I’ll take what I can get, Lapis my girl. I agree though, the base is very unflattering.”

Okay, on to the next one.” I sighed, bustling into a changing room, and pulling down the zipper to release myself from the tight fabric. I hadn’t liked this one either. The next dress thrown over my door looked different, and it almost whispered to me in a magical way. Before I even took it out, I knew this was the one. As I slid it over my head, and let it fall like a waterfall over my frame, I couldn’t hold back the gasp of amazement. Now, I’m not one to be vain, but in this dress I felt I had the right to be. I looked as if my pale skin was glowing like freshly fallen snow, and my icy eyes seemed to soften into a melted puddle of vanilla ice cream. Everything about this dress screamed ‘perfect’, yet it was so simple. The top was cut straight across, plain, yet flattering. The bottom of the skirt was tri colored, the top layer the color of the rest of the dress, then lavender, then a darker blue. It was so, so simple it struggled to find what had me so hooked, but whatever it was, it must have been amazing.

 

I knew before I stepped out into the viewing area that I’d never leave this store without this dress, but having my lovely ladies’ approval would be nice too. As I stepped out, it took only a split second for them to mirror my reaction, with audible gasps. Even the sales lady who had long abandoned us walked by when she heard the reaction, and stood staring, unembarrassed.

 

Spin.” the woman ordered, not taking her eyes off me. I did as I was told, spinning slowly, and listening to the gasps anew. Apparently, a layer of fine fabric on top of the gown made it shimmer when I moved, making “my hair look like fairies lived in it” according to Zuli, which was a compliment, because I hadn’t even combed it properly that day, just pulled it back.

 

My dear, this is a keeper.” announced my Mother, which resulted in a round of “I agree”’s from the growing crowd, which had found another member in the form of another store clerk. With that, I was ushered back into the changing room to put back on my clothes, and then we paid for the dress.

 ***

 The next few days were spent almost care-free, with all the work taken care of, and all the planning complete, all we really had to do was wait for the guests to arrive from out of town, and then let the nuptials begin. We spent the days with the kids, their spring break having started two days after my parents’ arrival, and then spent the evenings together, letting Picton get to know my parents and vice versa. My Dad liked Picton a lot, finding him fun to be around and caring towards me and the kids.

Just the kind of guy I knew you’d always find, Vi” he said to me one night.

I know Dad. He’s perfect.”

 

My Mother loved him to absolute pieces. “He’s so great! I mean, I knew he would be from how you talked about him, but look at him, he’s gorgeous! And the heart of a saint, to be sure! How ever did you find each other? What am I saying, destiny’s got that one covered. You two are two sides of the same coin*!” she squealed happily, holding a very embarrassed Picton to his spot in the living room.

 

Momma, you’re making him uncomfortable.” I fake-whined, walking over and placing a soft kiss on to Picton’s burning cheek.

No I’m not, I bet he gets it all the time.” She defended loudly.

He better not.” I said sternly, laughing as Picton wriggled.

We’re only joking, pet. You know I love you.” I whispered, rubbing the spot between his shoulders I knew got very tense due to the way he held his arm when he painted.

I know.” he replied evenly, but suddenly remembered a very important phone call he absolutely had to make right that second.

 ***

Two days later, everyone found their way to our front door for a little reunion before the wedding. We were spending the first whole day together, and then tomorrow the guys would spend heir man time together, while us girls had our time. A mock hen night, and bachelor party really, just without the scantily clad dancers or mass amounts of the bubbly stuff. We had kids in both parties after all.

Not everyone arrived until late afternoon on the first day, and so we mostly spent our time catching up, getting to know new people to our group, and, of course, eating.

 

Eminence had recently gotten engaged to a miss Blueberry Muffin. He met her through a friend of a friend, and it was ‘love at first sight’. She was an artist, although to a much lower scale than Picton (she nearly fainted upon meeting him, poor girl), and Eminence was high up in his career as a Doctor. They were the sweetest thing I’d ever seen, and I never found a moment when they weren’t touching in some way.

 

Lavender had also gotten engaged, but that was a long while ago now, almost four years. Nepal, the man my mother had been so proud to know, was in the army, was being the operative word. Upon finding Lavender, he readily gave up his life away to be with her, which won over my Mother as well as Lavender in the blink of an eye. Lavender herself was writing stories at the moment, and had a few things published, having given up her veterinary job after their biggest surprise. Her, or should I say their, greatest accomplishment though was their little boy Ice. Yes, you heard right, Ice Icing, until they found the money to marry, upon which he would be Ice Glacier. Don’t mention it to them, but I don’t think they through that through very well.

 

And then their was Seance. He was still living life alone, claiming to have had many failed relationships, none of which he’d talk much about. Mom said he was coming out of a lull after his last love, whom she never met. I guess they must have meant a lot to Seance though. He was currently working as a teacher, and loving every minute of it.

 ***

 The ‘girls party’ sent the men packing as early as we could, waving them out the door to a day of… who knows, really. Eating meat, or something of the sort, I’d suppose. We, on the other hand, decided that makeovers were the name of the game today, and anything goes.

 

Zuli, stay still!” I cried, as she wriggled under the bristles of the brush.

It tickles!”

I know! But you’ll mess is up if you keep moving!”

Fine.”

One more layer of lipstick.. and…”Voila!” I cried, leaning back to admire my work. Yes, she looked just about as zany as the rest of us, our faces being Zuli’s handiwork.

 

Lemme see!” she demanded, holding her little fingers out for the mirror. Upon handing it to her, she fell into fits of giggles, saying I was the “definite worst at make overs”, to which I readily disagreed, gesturing to my own lipstick, which was only partially on my lips.

 

We then sat on the bedroom floor, giving Grandma the bed though for her “poor old back”, and just talked.

I’m happy you’re getting married Mom, this is fun.” announced Zuli, while playing with a strand of her long blue hair. Her Dad’s hair.

Oh yea?”

Yes. And Picton’s really nice too. Did you know that he can whistle out of his nose, Mom?”

Oh can he?”

Yea, and he’s also really good at sneaking cookies upstairs to me. Wait, wait Ma, I wasn’t supposed to tell you that! Don’t tell him!”

Okay, I won’t” I promised, holding back laughter. It seems that someone was well and truly won over my Picton’s charm.. and musical nose. I guess that made two of us.

 ****

Lapis Lazuli Icing, you come here right this instant young lady. How on Earth are we going to get your Mama ready if you don’t let us do you first?”

 

Hmmph.” Zuli frowned, sitting back into the chair to have her hair done. She looked so perfect in her little dress, it almost made me want to cry, but my Mother assured me that I’d be shedding enough happy tears today, so not to waste them. I agreed, it was too early to start crying, as the sun hadn’t even risen above the horizon yet. I craved to know what Astral looked like, but he had been kept on the boys side of the house, and I on the girls side, to ensure that no secrets were told, and there was absolutely no chance that the groom saw the bride before the wedding.

 

When the comb has successfully tamed her bouncing curls, Zuli was sent to sit on the bed while I had my turn. Blueberry, being an artist, was in charge of my make up, while Lavender did my hair. Momma was given the honour of dressing me. First, Blueberry pulled out her make up case, yes case, and began to add layer upon layer of make up to my face. Some of it felt heavenly, and others parts made it feel like my face weighed a ton. I sat, eyes closed, and mouth shut for forty minutes, listen to Blueberry babble on about how beautiful this was going to be, and how lucky it was that she had her waterproof mascara with her, before being released to Lavender. She was much more gentle, with the comb, and with her conversation. I was allowed to sit in silence for the longest time, eyes still closed as not to ruin the surprise, and relax. The nerves that had been kept away by a busy schedule were beginning to wind their way around my heart, and my stomach, making every swallow hard, and each breath shaky.

 

You’ve nothing to worry about.” Lavender said quietly after a while, putting down the comb and pulling out a hot curling iron.

Then why do I feel like throwing up?” I managed through gritted teeth.

That’s natural, Violet. Nerves are natural. Just focus on Picton, picture his face, and his hands, and his smile. Think about that, and how much you love him, because after today, that’s what you’ll be rewarded with.”

I took a deep breath, and took her advice. In my head, instead of images of me tripping down the aisle, or puking on the cake, it was Picton and I, hand in hand, or lips locked, or even just his face smiling that intoxicating smile. I relaxed sooner than I’d expected, and before I knew it, Lavender kissed me on the cheek, letting me know it was time to go over to Mama and get my dress on. I latched my fingers around her wrists, being blindly lead to the other part of the room.

Okay, Vi, keep those eyes close, Lavender and I will help you. First, drop that nightgown.”

 

I did as I was told, and then stood in my underwear for further inspection. “Honestly, Violet, don’t you have any better undergarments? You’ll need something nicer tonight!” Mama cried, causing my face to heat up immediately.

Mother!” I cried, astonished.

It’s true though. Where’s that set I bought you? Oh it’s in the draw, you sly girl. Trying to hide it. Right now, put these on instead, Zuli close your eyes girl.”

Is this nec-”

Yes, it’s necessary. Now, hurry.”

 

I did as I was told, fitting myself into the lacy undergarment set my Mother had bought specially, much to my dismay.

 

Right, now take two baby steps forward. That’s it. Now, lift your right leg, mmhmm, move it forward, now put it down. Now the other.” Mom instructed carefully, positioning me so I could step into the dress.

Okay, now put your arms up straight. Good. Breathe in while I zip it. That’s a girl. Spin. Okay, great! Great. Now for shoes and jewellery.”

I held back a sigh, having not foreseen the fuss that would be made. It was making everyone happy though, and made the day feel incredibly special, so I allowed myself to be pushed and pulled into whatever I needed to be. I understood now, why my last ‘wedding’ was so dull for my Mother, this was more her type of thing.

Mama fastened my painted toes into a pair of strappy heels which I had only seen once, for fitting, and then slid a pair of earrings into my ears, and a cold chain around my neck.

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue.” someone in the background, Blueberry I think, said. Though I couldn’t tell with my eyes closed if it truly was her.

Well I think we’ve gotten blue covered.” Zuli offered, obviously referring to the dress I was wearing.

 

And your underwear are new.” Lavender snickered.

The earrings are borrowed, because I wore them on my wedding day.” My Mom said quietly.

So something old…. old…” Lavender said, and I could hear her pacing back and forth.

I’ve got it!” Blueberry cried, and I could just make out her light footsteps on the floor as she scurried to the drawers, and then to my Mother

Perfect!” She cried, fixing something very familiar into my hair, something I knew to be my flower.

Something old, check, new, check, borrowed, check, and blue, double check. Looks like we’re set, Violet. Open your eyes.”

 

I did as I was told, my eyes fluttering open slower than usual due to the layer of thick mascara and addition of fake lashes. I forgot about all that upon finding my reflection in the mirror. I was taken aback by the woman in the mirror, who was definitely not me. I was just Violet, same dress, same hair everyday, little journalist from a small town. This woman in the mirror looked like she could make men drop like flies wherever she went, and women drool with envy. My eyes stood out against my new color filled face, as being soft and pure. My dress hugged my hips, making my normally hidden form jump out at you, making you notice the beauty in front of you.

I look amazing.” I breathed, willing myself not to cry at my own reflection. “Thank you.” I said, louder, too everyone.

A chorus of You’re Welcome’s were heard, and then everyone else flew into a whirlwind to get themselves ready. What felt like a split second later I was ushered out of the room, down the hall, and into the car, my dress being cared for every step of the way.

During the drive, Mom turned around to me from the front seat, and started firing out pointers.

Stand straight, speak clearly. You remember your vows right? Good. Keep your head up, and try to hold off the tears for as long as you can. Smile, and remember he loves you twice as more as you imagine he does, so you dont need to worry.” I nodded, wondering if Picton was getting the same lecture. I doubted it.

Just stay calm, and have fun.” Lavender whispered in my ear, when Mama stopped to breath. “It’s your special day, after all.”

I smiled at her, and nodded. I didn’t know what I’d do without her.

We arrived at the venue much too soon for my liking, and so I had to take some deep calming breaths to stop the panic rising up again. I took a step out of the car, and held tightly onto my sisters arm, begging myself not to pass out. I spotted my Dad, and we made our way over to him. As we reached where he stood, Lavender bid me farewell with a small wave and a reassuring pat, and then all the girls left to take their seats, leaving my Dad and I alone.

 

You look so pretty, baby.” He said, looking at my attire.

Thank you, Daddy.” I said, smiling.

Are you ready?”

As I’ll ever be.”

No going back?”

I laughed quietly, “Definitely no going back.”

Then lets go.” he said, crooking his elbow for me to take.

 

We arrived at the end of the aisle, and the music was started to play. I took my first step down the flowered walkway, then raised my head to look to the arch. There, Picton stood, in all his glory smiling down at me. As soon as our eyes locked, I could look nowhere else, and the aisle’s length seemed to evaporate, and before I knew it, my arm was being passed from my Dad’s firm grasp to my lover’s tender hold.

Hello there, handsome.” I whispered.

Handsome? Trust me, lover, I could be naked and you’d still get more stares looking like that.”

Well, I think we’ll leave that one to our imagination.” I replied, stifling a laugh.

Then, Seance, who we’d chosen to marry us, cleared his throat loudly.

 

Dearly beloved, we are gathered here in the presence of nature, and before these friends and family, to join together this man and this woman in Matrimony, which is an honourable and beautiful estate, and therefore is not to be entered into unadvisedly or lightly, but instead with love, respect, friendship, and honour. Into this estate these two persons present come now to be joined. They have written their own vows, which will now be repeated.”

 

Violet Moon Icing, my perfect, precious Moon. I met you by a stroke of luck, and I was foolish not to snatch you up on first sight, because I knew the first time I saw you that I loved you. Not only are you a beautiful on the outside, but the same inside. You’re kind, and loving, forgiving, and pure. It’s no wonder they named the Moon after you, because when I look at how amazing it is, I can only think of you. I’m so glad you could actually find someone like me, with all the bad sides I have, anywhere near good enough for you. I promise to protect you, love you, care for you, and be with you until I take my dying breath. I love you, Violet Moon Icing.”

 

Picton Waves, my amazing, knight in shining armour. I hold the day I met you so close to my heart, because without you, I’m incomplete. You make me want to sing, and dance, you make me so happy. When I look at you, I see an angel, sent to help me through my life, because that’s exactly what you’ve done, helped me, and saved me. Without you, I don’t know where I’d be, or how I’d ever be myself. You’re everything I could have wished for, and now you have my heart, I never want it back. I promise to protect you, love you, care for you, and be with you until I take my dying breath. I love you, Picton Waves.”

Mr Picton Waves, do you take Violet Moon as your lawfully wedded wife, to love and care for forever and always?”

I do.” he said firmly, beaming at me.

Miss Violet Moon Icing, do you take Picton as your lawfully wedded husband, to love and care for forever and always?”

I do!” I cried, the tears beginning to flow.

Are there any objections?” He asked, and everyone stayed silent and still, showing the exact opposite.

Then, in the presence of nature, and before your family and friends, I pronounce you husband and wife. You may kiss the bride.”

 

And so he did, leaning in gently to place his soft, warm lips onto my own. The kiss was so sweet, and it wasn’t just our lips that touched, but out hearts. His lips tasted sweet, like honey, and his hand on my back was a warm, protecting embrace, the only complaint was that of it’s length, much too short due to the eager audience awaiting cake and congratulations.

 

Woooooahhh! Woooow!” The crowd cheered, and clapped as we broke apart, and turned to face them, beaming. We walked to the cake, and ceremoniously cut the first slice so the party could begin.

Oooooooooh, Violet. I’m so happy for you” my Mom squealed, hugging me tight, then gathering Picton in a huge hug too. “Mr and Mrs Icing. Oooh, I’m going to cry again!” My mom said, bustling away to fuss with Ice instead.

We ate cake, and picked from the buffet before hitting the dance floor. We had to weave our way through the sims in our way, accepting congratulations left and right, before finding an open space between the slow dancing couples, and my two crazy kids who were having some sort of dance off. I slipped my head onto his shoulder, as he snaked his arms around my waist.

 

I love you, Mr Icing.” I whispered.

And I you, a million times over, Mrs Icing. More than you’d ever believe.”

Are you sure? Because I got it into my head that you liked me a whole lot.” I smiled

I’m absolutely sure. I love you more than even I thought humanly possible, even if you do read sappy novels.” he joked, leaning down for another warm kiss, which was able to grow to it’s full potential with no crowd to stop us, and I let the warmth coat my whole body in happiness. Here, in Picton’s soft embrace, was where I was meant to be.

*I nicked this phrase from the hit BBC show Merlin, which I love very much. Thank you Merlin!

Extras~

13 comments on “Chapter 2.12 ~ I’ll Love You Forever

  1. Don’t know why the text changed halfway through, sorry about that guys!

  2. Wow. I felt so anxious just reading about the women pulling and pushing blushing bride Violet. I’m so happy she’s with the man that can give her all she deserves : D this was so cute and great detail with the wedding attire!

  3. OH MY GOD THEY ARE THE CUTEST COUPLE EVER I JUST. I loved her dress. I loved Picton’s vows. I loved everything about this chapter <3

  4. That bit when they bought me the dress was unnaturally tense for me. I wanted to see it but I didn’t want to scroll down to see just in case I saw something which ruined the whole chapter for me. This wedding was by far better than the one with Calypso. I mean, the first one was so … stingy! This one was “Fabtastic”!

  5. That was a cute chapter with all of the family.

  6. Love the chapter they’re all so cute together!

  7. I loved the chapter so much! Great job. And I have to say, I love the choice in covers! The sign of the Deathly Hallows? YES! XD

Leave a Comment